Back to All Events

Syvers w/ Faux Fawn




SYVERS are an indie folk-electronic duo hailing from Minneapolis. The husband-wife fronted band brings together a raw and honest vulnerability focused on the process. This common tie is the thread that led them to write their debut release, the Au Fond Sessions. 

The 3-track EP, produced by the Emmy-award winning Taylor Lewin, is a collection of songs with an intimate, bare-bones gaze into the heart of relationship and the spectrum of its human experience. This release landed the duo a spot as a New & Notable artist on Noisetrade music and shows across the Midwest.

Pulling from their respective spheres of indie influences, the duo sweep
haunting layered vocals over an organic-electronic blend of synths, strings and effected beats to brew a dark blend of moody shades reminiscent of Bonobo, S. Carey, and J. Views juxtaposed against the emotion-filled drippings of Liza Anne, Phoebe Bridgers, Julien Baker, and the xx. 

As a staple of their shows, live-looping crossfades the studio composition process with the stage. With threads of samples, droning backdrops, and dripping vocals crafted on the fly, capturing these inspired moments will take a new form each time their mantra is exhaled.

Continuing in the stride of their first release, Syvers is in the process of completing their first full-length studio album. The Weight & The Sound is set to be released in 2018 as Syvers brings an intimate connection of struggle, intervention, and the dance of dark and light to their audiences. 




Wrapped in a shroud of fabled stories, forgotten characters, and haunted landscapes; Faux Fawn has emerged from their winter slumber with melodies not yet lost to the bitter frost. Upon releasing his debut album February Fables in 2011, frontman Paul Otteson garnered immediate recognition as a thoughtful storyteller and prolific songwriter. Four albums later, now with band in tow; his group has established itself as a mainstay in the Madison music scene. 

Their upcoming album Lonesome Loon will be released December 6th. Admittedly darker and more reflective; this collection of songs takes the listener through a starless night, led only by the warm glow of Otteson and his band. Though slower paced than previous efforts, Lonesome Loon takes thoughtful steps drenched in lush harmonies and foreboding instrumentation.

The formation of Faux Fawn came in the spring of 2014, though its members have shared their brilliance from the very beginning. Luke Bassuener lends complex and unconventional wizardry on the drums; Tom McCarty is steadfast in his foundation on upright bass; Jeremiah Nelson renders layered waves and jazz voicings that create moments of beauty and sonic wonder on electric guitar, and Audre Krull warms the coolest breeze with her soaring voice. The result is a group dynamic filled with spontaneity and well-developed arrangements.